Gentle Yoga with Naomi - the originator of Gentle Yoga

Class Scope

Hatha Yoga For The Soul is a form of classical hatha yoga that its originator Naomi Judith has practiced and taught for more than 20 years. Although trained and certified in the traditional hatha yoga system, Naomi developed this gentler, slower paced practice to make it more accessible to people of all sizes, ages, and fitness levels. The Gentle Yoga with Naomi® system removes any fears or challenges in doing yoga, while it also assists with stress reduction and weight management. It creates an atmosphere of safety and comfort that fosters self-acceptance and self-love.

Basic Format

Lower Back Poses & Hip Openers
Seated Sequences Head & Neck Movements
The Cat Series
Seated Spinal Twists
Seated Froward Bend
Standing Positions
Body Scan
Cobra Series
The Half-Locust
The Yoga Mudra
The Deep Relaxation

Goals & Objectives

  1. Physical - Regulates the functioning of the glands: builds vitality, strength and suppleness; stimulates the respiratory and circulatory systems; tones the muscles and reduces weight; prevents hardening of the arteries, arthritis, headaches and other weight and stress-related disorders.
  2. Emotional - Develops an increased sense of well-being, a serene and broader life-outlook. Supports personal growth and development.
  3. Mental – Increases self-control and the power to concentrate the mind through awareness and consciousness.

Special Focus

The core of Gentle Hatha Yoga for the Soul includes relaxation in between poses. Most importantly, with the completion of a yoga session there is a progressive relaxation in which all parts of the body are tightened and then released, creating the feeling of renewal and rejuvenation in the body-mind/spirit. From this state, a deep healing can begin; this is the basis for refreshing and long-lasting benefits to the entire system, including successful weight loss, stress reduction and life-style changes.

Terms to Become Familiar With

Asana: “To Set” – (sitting or setting postures) Many of the Yoga or Sanskrit words end in “asana”, meaning a specific posture

Savasana – Corpse pose… Complete relaxation

Chakra – Wheel; refers to seven basic energy centers in the body

Pranayama – Breath

Chi – Life’s energy force (same as “Prana”)

Namaste – Yoga greeting

More flexibility, more strength, better breathing techniques, learning to relax and meditate. Great class overall!  -Mary Ann Yeager